top of page
Featured Posts

How to buy miniatures on the cheap!

Having been out of the hobby for a numbers of years, I didn't realize how much prices for miniatures have gone up! Back in the 80's a standard 25mm figure went for around $1 or $2 a piece. Now a days, a single 25mm figure can easily cost over $8! Not wanting to break the bank by purchasing brand new miniatures, I decided to do some deal hunting online. Obviously, one of the first places I went to was eBay. It is still possible to find good deals on eBay, though it is likely you will face some competition. The danger of any online auction is that you find something you really want and then end up in a bidding war. Once a bidding war starts it's easy to go into a hypnotic trance and start throwing out counter bids to the point where the good deal you anticipated ended up being not such a good deal. Or, worse yet, one of the dreaded "Snipers" swipes the item right out from under you at the last second before the auction ends! Okay, I'll admit, I have engaged in some sniping... :)

I did recently notice a new feature on ebay that brought me some hope. Some listings now contain the option of "Make an offer." This basically means you can make any offer to the seller and they will respond either with a counter-offer or agree upon your original offer. I've got some really good bargains on miniatures by finding sellers who have this option on their listings. Use the advanced search option on eBay. Towards the bottom of the page there is a box titled "Make an offer" make sure that box is checked before you do your search. Another good place to look for miniatures is on the Good Will online auction site at http://www.shopgoodwill.com/

Do you have any good suggestions for buying cheap miniatures? I would love to hear them! Send me an email at floydsminiatures@gmail.com

These are some Lord of The Rings miniatures I purchased on a Good Will auction site (they were unpainted)

Here are some Games Workshop Lord of The Rings miniatures I purchased on a Good Will Auction Site. These figures came unpainted.


Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page